District 2

The Honorable Deni L. Taveras

Constituent areas include: Adelphi, Avondale, Brentwood, Carole Highlands, Chillum, Green Meadows, Hyattsville, Langley Park, Lewisdale, Mount Rainer, and North Brentwood

12/3/2018 - 12/5/2022


12/1/2014 - Present

Prince George's County Council Member Deni L. Taveras was reelected in the November 2018 General Election, to serve a second four-year term as the Prince George’s County Council Member representing District 2. Council Member Taveras served as Vice Chair of the Council’s Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee in Legislative Year 2018. Prior to her first Council election, she facilitated bills through the legislative process as Chief of Staff for Maryland State Senator Victor R. Ramirez. During her federal government service, Taveras enforced environmental laws at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. In her commitment to public service, she also worked for the Federal Emergency Management Agency to help recovering communities impacted by Hurricane Katrina and other disasters. As a Council Member, she is working to create economic development opportunities, improve quality of life and education, increase pedestrian safety, and provide support for the seniors of District 2. Additionally, she is focused on school and Purple Line construction, and developing Transit Centers in Prince George’s Plaza and West Hyattsville. Council Member Taveras is a strong advocate for social justice issues, seeking to improve the lives of working families and diverse communities. An active member of her homeowners’ association, Council Member Taveras lives in Adelphi with her beloved Shih Tzu, Lucky.

The boundaries for district 2 can be found here.  

Join the conversation with Council Member Taveras on her Facebook and/ or Twitter

If you have any questions or need assistance please contact Council Member Taveras office at 301-952-4436 or email at DLTaveras@co.pg.md.us.