Sydney J. Harrison

District 9
Title: Council Member
Phone: 301-952-3820
District 9 Map

Councilman Sydney J. Harrison (D) was elected to his 1st 4-year term on the Prince George’s County Council in the 2018 general election. Councilman Harrison represents the 9th district of Prince George’s County, which includes the southern 1/3 of the county’s land mass and most of the county’s rural tier.    The 9th Councilmanic District of Prince George’s County includes the constituent areas of Accokeek, Aquasco, Baden, Brandywine, Camp Springs, Cheltenham, Clinton, Croom, Eagle Harbor, Fort Washington, Piscataway, and Upper Marlboro. 

As one of six Constitutional officers in Prince George’s County, Council Member Harrison has served as Clerk of the Circuit Court for Prince George's County after being elected to the position in 2014.  He was also the former Vice Chair of the Maryland Clerk's Association, and current member of the Democratic Central Committee - 27th Legislative District, former small business owner and former real estate professional.  Council Member Harrison is an active community member, serving the nonprofit sector, and conducting missionary work around the world raising awareness for victims of domestic violence and foster care children. Council Member Harrison is also a faithful member of Union Bethel AME Church in Brandywine.


Return to Staff Directory