Transportation, Housing and the Environment (THE)

Council Member Todd M. Turner chairs the Transportation, Housing and Environment (THE) Committee. 

THE handles legislative matters pertaining to housing, transportation, permitting policy and planning, as well as environmental protection, conservation programs, and green infrastructure. Other policies and budget issues include the Capital Budget and Capital Improvement Program; Enterprise Funds; Solid Waste Plan; Storm Water Management; the Community Development Block Grant Program; the Redevelopment Authority; and Taxicabs and Limousines. Agency review responsibilities include the Department of Permitting, Inspections, and Enforcement; Department of the Environment; Animal Management Division; Department of Housing and Community Development; Department of Public Works and Transportation; the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission; and the Washington Suburban Transit Commission. 

Council Member 
Karen R. Toles serves as THE committee Vice-Chair. 


  • Todd M. Turner, Chair
  • Karen R. Toles, Vice-Chair
  • Mel Franklin
  • Mary A. Lehman
  • Deni Taveras

Agency/Issue Review Responsibilities

  • Dept. of The Environment (DOE)
    • Animal Management 
    • Capital Budget and Capital Improvement Program
    • Enterprise Funds
    • Solid Waste Plan (Landfills, Refuse Collection, Recycling)
    • Stormwater Management
    • Water and Sewerage Plans
  • Dept. of Housing and Community Development (DH&CD)
    • Community Development Block Grant (CDBG)
    • Redevelopment Authority
  • Dept. of Public Works and Transportation (DPW&T)
    • Capital Budget and Capital Improvement Program
    • Stormwater Management
  • Soil Conservation
  • Transportation Oversight
  • Taxicabs and Limousines (20-145)
  • Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission Operating Budget (WSSC)
  • Washington Suburban Transit Commission (WSTC)
  • Others, if necessary