Health, Human Services and Public Safety (HHSPS)


  • Krystal Oriadha, Chair
  • Wala Blegay, Vice Chair
  • Edward P. Burroughs
  • Thomas E. Dernoga
  • Mel Franklin

Agency/Issue Review Responsibilities:

  • Family Services
  • Health
  • Social Services
  • Police and CCOP
  • Sheriff
  • State’s Attorney
  • Circuit Court & Orphan’s Court
  • Corrections
  • Fire/EMS Department/Volunteer Fire
  • Homeland Security

Boards and Commissions: Fire Commission, Board of Social Services, Commission for Individuals with Disabilities, Advisory Committee on Aging, Commission for Veterans, Commission for Women, Mental Health Advisory Committee, Commission for Children, Youth and Families, Youth Commission, Arts and Humanities Council, Adult Public Guardianship Review Board, Commission on Fathers, Men, and Boys

  1. Nathaniel Tutt

    Acting Committee Director

  2. Leroy Maddox

    Legislative Officer

  3. Donna Whitman

    Legislative Officer

  4. Lochelle Ferguson

    Administrative Aide