News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/23/2016 10:48:49 AM to 5/3/2016 12:05:01 AM.

News Flash

Council News

Posted on: March 23, 2016


Commission to Hold a Series of Public Hearings Countywide for Citizen Input on County’s Fiscal Future

The Blue Ribbon Commission on Addressing Prince George’s County’s Structural Deficit, established by Council Resolution 26-2015 as a part of the approved FY 2016 County Budget, will hold the first of three countywide public hearings in South County, on Thursday, March 24, 2016, from 7:00 – 9:00 p.m., at Harmony Hall Regional Center, 10701 Livingston Road, Fort Washington, Maryland 20744. Public hearings are also being planned for residents in the northern and central parts of Prince George’s County.

The Blue Ribbon Commission is charged with recommending policies to the County Council and County Executive over the next year that will address the County’s structural deficit – the imbalance caused when normal government spending exceeds tax revenues on an annual basis. The commission will collect, review and discuss comparative budget data and information regarding Prince George’s County’s fiscal health; policies and practices that affect Prince George’s County’s revenue structure and the strength of its tax base; the structure and fiscal dynamics of the Prince George’s County Government; and feedback from community stakeholders concerning the County’s budget and tax structure.

The Commission presented its Preliminary Report to the Council during session on Tuesday, March 1, 2016. A final report is expected in July 2016.

Fort Washington resident Earl Adams, Jr., Esq., chairs the Blue Ribbon Commission. Blue Ribbon Commission members include: David C. Harrington, representing the Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce; James R. Estepp, representing the Greater Prince George's Business Roundtable; Desiree Callender, representing the Prince George 's County Association of Realtors; Jamal I. Miller (MSEA UNISERV Director/Prince George's County Educators' Association) and Gino Renne (UFCW Local 1994 MCGEO) representing affiliates of organized labor; David Van Dyke (County Auditor) and Turkessa Green (Audit Manager) representing the County's Office of Audits and Investigations; and Terri Bacote-Charles (Director) and Amber Hendricks (Deputy Director) representing the County's Office of Management and Budget. The County Council has appointed the following 6 citizens to serve on the Commission: Earl Adams, Jr., Esq.; Henry W. Mosley, CPA; John Rogard Tabori; Ron L. Watson, Ph.D.; Sherman L. Ragland, II; and Mark E. Tomassoni, Ph.D. Council Vice-Chair Derrick Leon Davis (D) – District 6 will serve as the Council's non-voting ex-officio member, and Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Budget, Finance & Administration, Thomas Himler will serve as the County Executive’s non-voting ex-officio member.

Blue Ribbon Commission on Addressing Prince George’s County’s Structural Deficit PUBLIC HEARING

Blue Ribbon Commission Members
County Residents

Thursday, March 24, 2016
7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Harmony Hall Regional Center
10701 Livingston Road
Fort Washington, Maryland 20744

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Council News


Posted on: February 28, 2023