News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/3/2018 3:25:02 PM to 1/1/2019 12:05:05 AM.

News Flash

Council News

Posted on: December 3, 2018


Council Convenes December 4 for Gavel Exchange Ceremony; Elects New Leadership Team 

The new 11-member Prince George’s County Council was administered the Oath of Office today by Clerk of the Court Mahasin El Amin during the County’s 13th Inauguration held at Showplace Arena in Upper Marlboro, Maryland.

For the first time since 1982, the Council includes two voter-approved At-Large Members, expanding the legislative body from nine to 11 members. Council Member Mel Franklin and Council Member Calvin Hawkins, II will serve four-year terms in the At-Large seats. Council Member Franklin represented District 9 on the County Council from 2010 to 2018.

Five of the eleven members sworn-in today, Council Members Thomas Dernoga (D) – District 1, who also served as the District 1 Council Member from 2002 through 2010; Jolene Ivey (D) – District 5; Rodney Streeter (D) – District 7, Monique Anderson (D) – District 8 and Sydney Harrison (D) – District 9 are serving their first terms. Council Chair Dannielle Glaros (D) – District 3, Vice Chair Todd M. Turner (D) – District 4, and Council Members Deni Taveras (D) – District 2, and Derrick Leon Davis (D) – District 6 are serving their second terms in office.

Council Chair Dannielle Glaros, who delivered the Inaugural Address on behalf of the County Council, said the Council looks forward to moving the County forward in partnership with County Executive Angela Alsobrooks, who made history as the first woman to serve as County Executive in Prince George’s County.

“Working together, we will build a Prince George’s County where lives and communities are transformed, and economic progress is achieved. Prince George’s County is a competitive force across our region and in our nation, and the energy of this new 11-member County Council and our new County Executive ensures the best is yet to come,” adding, “This Council looks forward to working with every stakeholder - civic leaders, businesses, nonprofits and neighborhood groups - to identify the most effective ways to extend our partnership for the greatest mutual benefit.”

The Prince George’s County Council will convene tomorrow, December 4, at 10:30 a.m., to elect a new Council leadership team for the 2019 Legislative Year. The session will be held at the County Administration Building, Council Hearing Room, 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive in Upper Marlboro. There will be a press briefing with the new Council leadership immediately following in the Council Media Room.


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Council News


Posted on: February 28, 2023