News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/4/2019 1:48:59 PM to 12/2/2020 12:00:04 AM.

News Flash

Council News

Posted on: December 4, 2019


Prince George’s County Council Chair Todd M. Turner (D) – District 4, has announced Legislative Year 2020 Council committee assignments and appointments to County boards and commissions. The Council voted in July 2018 to amend its Rules of Procedure, allowing for a restructuring of Council standing committees.

Council Chair Turner noted, “This past year we experienced our new committee structure with a new County Council. As we begin the second year of our term, we look to expand opportunities for leadership development among Council members while maintaining the important budgetary and legislative work of the Council’s committees in 2020.”

Council Member Sydney Harrison (D) – District 9, will again chair the Education and Workforce Development Committee (EWD), with Council Member Deni Taveras (D) – District 2, serving as vice-chair. EWD members include Council Member Derrick L. Davis (D) – District 6, At-Large Council Member Mel Franklin, and Council Member Monique Anderson Walker (D) – District 8. EWD will include oversight of the Prince George’s County Public Schools System; Community College; Memorial Library System; and Workforce Development programs, enabling a focus on the shared priority of college and career readiness.

Council Member Rodney C. Streeter (D) – District 7 will serve as chair of the Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee (GOFP) and Council Member Derrick L. Davis will serve as vice-chair. Committee Members include Council Members Thomas E. Dernoga (D) – District 1, Dannielle Glaros (D) – District 3 and Council Member At-Large and Vice-Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II. GOFP maintains oversight for several issues and policies related to general government, labor agreements, bond issues, budget and financial management, and cable television and telecommunications. Agency review responsibilities include the Office of Central Services; Office of Community Relations; Board of Elections, Board of License Commissioners; Office of Finance; Office of Human Resources Management; Human Relations Commission; Personnel Board; Office of Information Technology; Office of Law; Board of Ethics; Office of Management and Budget; and the Revenue Authority.

Council Vice-Chair and At-Large Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins. II, will continue to serve as Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee (HHSPS) chair, assisted in this work by Council Member Sydney Harrison, who will serve as committee vice-chair. Committee members include Council Members Mel Franklin, Rodney Streeter and Deni Taveras. Included among the agencies, institutions and issues of concern to HHSPS: Prince George’s County Public Safety agencies, the Court system; Citizens Complaint Oversight Panel; University of Maryland Capital Region Health; County Health Department; and Department of Social Services.

Council Member Dannielle Glaros will again chair the Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee (PHED). Council Member Sydney Harrison will serve as committee vice-chair. PHED Members include Council Members Derrick L. Davis, Calvin S. Hawkins, II and Jolene Ivey (D) – District 5. In addition to County zoning and subdivision bills, and planning and land-use regulations, PHED will also support the outcomes of the Council’s economic development initiatives, and maintain a focus on housing policy, permitting and code enforcement within the Departments of Housing and Community Development and Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement respectively; the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, as well as the People’s Zoning Counsel.

The Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee (TIEE), will be led again by Council Member Deni Taveras as chair and Council Member Dannielle Glaros who will serve as vice- chair. Committee Members include Council Members Thomas E. Dernoga, Monique Anderson-Walker and Council Chair Todd Turner. TIEE handles legislative matters pertaining to transportation policy and planning, as well as environmental protections, green infrastructure and conservation and energy programs. Agency review responsibilities include the Department of the Environmental; Animal Control; Department of Public Works and Transportation; the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission; and the Washington Suburban Transit Commission.

Council Members Derrick L. Davis and Deni Taveras will preside over the General Assembly Committee as chair and vice-chair, respectively. Members include Council Members Mel Franklin, Jolene Ivey, and Council Chair Todd M. Turner.

Council of Government appointments for Legislative Year 2020 include:

Board of Directors, Council Members Davis and Harrison; Transportation Planning Board, Council Members Taveras and Glaros; Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee, Council Member Dernoga; Region Forward Coalition, Council Member Glaros; Human Services and Public Safety Policy Committee, Council Vice-Chair Hawkins; Chesapeake Bay and Water Resources Policy Committee, Council Member Anderson-Walker; and Climate, Energy and Environment Policy Committee, Council Member Taveras.


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Council News